Screen Sharing in Zoom

Table of Contents

Zoom’s screen sharing enables you to share your screen with others. You can share the screen you are viewing on your PC or mobile device with all participants. If you open a Word or Power Point file on the shared screen, you can make your presentation showing the document to the participants.

Start screen sharing

  1. Click “Share Screen” in the meeting controls.
    Zoom menu "Share Screen"

  2. You will be given various options for sharing.
    In the “Basic” tab, choose to share your entire desktop or specific application window.
    Select from "Basic" tab
    • [Desktop] Share your full desktop.
    • [Individual application] Share an individual application you have opened on your computer such as Word, PowerPoint, web browser, etc.. It is useful when you only want to share an individual file from a specific location.
  3. Check the option at the bottom of the window if necessary. (You can also set it up during screen sharing from the “More” in the meeting controls.) Check the option if necessary
  1. Select the screen you want to share and click the blue “Share” button at the bottom right corner.
     The "Share Screen" button starts screen sharing

Stop screen sharing

To end the screen sharing, click “Stop Share” at the bottom of the screen sharing controls. This will bring you back to your regular Zoom view.

Stop screen sharing

Screen sharing controls

Screen sharing controls are displayed at either the top or bottom of the screen during screen sharing. The following explains how the controls work.

Screen sharing controls

(For teachers) Settings and notes for screen sharing

Settings and notes for screen sharing are summarized as follows.

Privacy considerations for screen sharing

When you share your desktop, your personal information may be revealed unintentionally. To prevent such a situation, you can share the screen by window.

Displaying meeting controls during screen sharing

The meeting controls may be hidden at the top or bottom of the window during screen sharing. To display the controls, hover the mouse cursor over the green “You are screen sharing” notification, which is next to “Stop Share” of the in-meeting menu .

Stop student’s full screen display

During screen sharing, the student’s PC screen is basically full screen, and the student cannot move to other windows. If the student double-clicks on the Zoom screen, the screen is no longer full-screen, which is easier to move to other windows.
If you want the students to use other windows other than Zoom while the teacher’s screen sharing, it is better to instruct them to double-click the Zoom screen.

Screen sharing controls

Setting up who can annotate

You can prevent participants from annotating l by selecting “Disable Annotation for Others” from “More” of the meeting controls.

Displaying names of annotators

By selecting “Show/Hide Names of Annotators” from “More” of the meeting controls, participants’ names will appear/disappear next to their annotations on the shared screen.
Show names of annotators

Configuring screen sharing settings

  1. Hit the small green ^ button in the “Share Screen” button and select “Advanced Sharing Options” from the drop-down menu.
    Advanced Sharing Options

  2. “Advanced Sharing Options” window will open.
    Advanced Sharing Options

Settings for sharing multiple screens simultaneously.

※Note
If you select “Multiple participants can share simultaneously (dual monitors recommended)”, the option “Optimize screen sharing for video clips” will not be available when sharing the screen.
Also, when multiple participants are sharing their screens at the same time, the person sharing the screen can only see his own screen.

Setting up who can share screen

If “One participant can share at a time” is selected, you can choose between “Only host” and “All participants” under “Who can share?” in “Advanced Sharing Options”.
For “Host Only”, non-teaching participants are prohibited from screen sharing.
You can also go to “Security” in the meeting controls and check/uncheck the “(Allow participants to Share screen” checkbox from the drop-down menu. Setting up who can share screen

Starting a new share when someone is sharing.

If the setting is “Only one participant can share at a time”, you can select “Host only” or “All participants” under “Who can start sharing when someone else is sharing?” in “Advanced Sharing Options”.
If you choose “All participants”, everyone can start a new share when someone is sharing.

Screen Annotation

Click “Annotate” from the screen sharing controls to annotate the shared screen with a set of annotation tools. Screen sharing menu "Add a comment"

"Annotate" Stamp

Participants’ controls

Participants can annotate the shared screen and change the screen settings during sharing on their own devices.
Click the “∨” mark next to “View Options” at the top of the sharing screen, to the right of the green “You are viewing xxxx’s screen” field, and open the pulldown.

Participants’ controls

Annotation on a shared screen

Click “Annotate” from the screen sharing controls to annotate the shared screen with a set of annotation tools. Details are explained in “Screen Annotation” above.
However, if “Disable Annotation for Others” is enabled, no annotations can be added.

Screen settings during sharing

You can choose the window size when screen sharing from the list of “Fullscreen mode”, “Maximize window”, and “Maintain current size”.
If “Side-by-side Mode” is selected, the shared screen will appear on the left while the speaker on the right. You can adjust the relative space devoted to the shared screen by dragging the vertical gray bar. To set it as default, go to “Settings”,”Share Screen”, and select “Side-by-side Mode” in the Zoom application.

Screen settings during sharing