Notice on Account Revocation due to Graduation, Resignation or Change of Affiliation

Table of Contents

When you leave the University of Tokyo due to graduation, resignation, or other reasons, your UTokyo Account will be revoked and you will no longer be able to sign in. As a result, you will no longer be able to sign in to the various information systems such as Zoom and Microsoft 365 provided by the University of Tokyo that require a UTokyo Account for sign-in. After your account has been revoked, you will not be able to access any data stored in these information systems. In addition, since you will not be able to log in to your ECCS Cloud Email account after you leave the university, nor will you be able to access data stored in Gmail, Google Drive, or other services which you used in your ECCS Cloud Email account.

Also, when your affiliation changes within the University of Tokyo, your UTokyo Account or ECCS Cloud Email account may also be revoked in some cases.

Please check which of the following applies to you, and back up your data in advance if necessary.

If you are no longer affiliated with the University of Tokyo

If you leave the University of Tokyo due to graduation or resignation, your UTokyo Account will be revoked and you will not be able to use the various information systems. Please back up your data according to the instructions given on the Data Backup upon Leaving the University of Tokyo page.

Furthermore, some information systems, such as the UTokyo Antivirus License, are not automatically terminated even though you are no longer authorized to use them upon leaving the university. Please follow the instructions or each system to terminate their use.

Please refer to the ”UTokyo Antivirus License: Notes for Graduates and Leavers in FY2022” page (in Japanese) for more information on the UTokyo Antivirus License.

If your affiliation changes within the University of Tokyo

If your affiliation changes within the University of Tokyo, your UTokyo Account may or may not be revoked depending on your situation.

Students who become faculty members & faculty members who become students

The UTokyo Account is managed and assigned separately for students and faculty members. If you become a faculty member from a student or a faculty member from a student, your UTokyo Account will be revoked and a new UTokyo Account will be issued. In this case, you will need to back up your data in the same way as when you graduate or resign from the university. Please back up your data according to the instructions on the ”Data Backup upon Leaving the University of Tokyo” page.

Please note that your ECCS Cloud Email account will also be revoked and a new account will be issued. However, you can continue to use the same ECCS Cloud Email account by following the procedures described in the ”Procedure for those who wish to continue using their previous ECCS Cloud Email even after your UTokyo Account has been changed” page.

Students, faculty, and staff who change their affiliation

If you change your faculty or graduate school that you belong to, but remain a student or a faculty member, your UTokyo Account will not be revoked, and you will continue to be able to use the information systems. Therefore, there is no need to back up your data.

Appendix

arrow_upward
Scroll to Top
feedback
Feedback
contact_support
Support Desk