Setting up a Zoom Waiting Room

Table of Contents

The Waiting Room feature enables hosts to first place meeting participants in a waiting room and then explicitly allow them to enter the meeting room.

The host can customize when a participant joins the meeting in the Zoom Settings page. Below are some options.

For details on how to set up a Zoom meeting, please refer to Scheduling a Zoom Meeting (Web Portal). For recommendations on meeting room settings for online classes, please see Restricting Access to Zoom Meeting Rooms for Online Classes.

Setup Procedure

  1. In your web browser, go to the Zoom Settings page.
  2. In the “Waiting Room Options”, click “Edit Options”.
  3. Select the appropriate option for “Who should go into the waiting room?”
    • ”Everyone”: All participants will be placed in the Waiting Room before entering the meeting room. This option is best for interviews, examinations, and one-on-one meetings.
    • ”Users not in your account”: Participants signing into Zoom with their UTokyo Account (account using the email address @utac.u-tokyo.ac.jp) will be automatically admitted to the meeting room without entering the Waiting Room.
    • ”Users who are not in your account and not part of your whitelisted domains”: Participants signing into Zoom with their UTokyo Account and participants signing in with email addresses of a specific domain will be automatically admitted to the meeting room without entering the Waiting Room. For online classes, it is recommended that you select this option and enter *.u-tokyo.ac.jp as the whitelisted domain.